Beneficial Ownership Transparency in Africa: 19 -20 May 2021

events

Open Ownership · Apr 2021

Day 2

Technical Roundtable: Advancing beneficial ownership disclosure in Africa

Date: 20 May 2021

Time: 10:00 Abidjan 12:00 Johannesburg 13:00 Nairobi 6:00 AM EDT

Duration: 3.5 hours (Including interval breaks)

Languages: English and French

Registration: Upon invitation only. If you are a practitioner working on beneficial ownership in Africa and would like to receive further information about this roundtable, please fill in this form to register your interest.

Open Government Partnership (OGP), EITI and Open Ownership will host a technical roundtable on beneficial ownership disclosure in Africa.

The technical roundtable aims to bring together technical officials from government agencies working on beneficial ownership transparency, business representatives, civil society and media representatives, members of EITI national multi-stakeholder groups (MSGs), EITI national secretariats and OGP multi-stakeholder forums (MSFs). Participants of the session will build their technical capacity by sharing best practices and accessing practical tools to support implementation, address legal barriers, improve quality data collection and enhance options of data usage by stakeholders.

For more information, see the draft programme and concept note.

Day 1

Webinar: High-level discussion on beneficial ownership transparency in Africa

Date: 19 May 2021

Time: 12:00 Abidjan 14:00 Johannesburg 15:00 Nairobi 8:00 AM EDT

Duration: 90 minutes

Languages: English and French

Registration: Register to attend (open to the public)

During the Open Gov Week 2021, Open Government Partnership (OGP) and the EITI will convene leaders from government, civil society, public and private sectors for a high-level engagement on advancing beneficial ownership transparency in Africa.

These leaders will share best practice guidance on instituting beneficial ownership reform infrastructure to enhance its effectiveness and impact and ultimately mitigate corruption and mismanagement in the natural resource sector, as well as supporting governments in adapting to new challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic.

For more information, see the event concept note.

Tags

Africa